Who Reviews in a Pineapple Under the Sea?

I have a bit of a history with this show.

nickelodeon_spongebob_squarepants_characters_cast

On my old blog, SpongeBob was my first big review project. Specifically, I went through the post-movie seasons, most of which I had never seen. So that meant seasons 4 through 8 (season 9 wasn’t complete at the time… it technically still isn’t). It was… long. And frustrating. But it was a lot of fun too. My overall opinion of the post-movie seasons was a bit all over the place, but I really enjoyed writing those reviews and it made me realize how much I actually love doing this. It also made me develop an attachment to this silly little cartoon beyond it being a fantastic and memorable show from my childhood.

Originally, I had never planned on reviewing pre-movie (that is to say, the first three seasons). It didn’t sound very interesting to me to review something I was already very familiar with and knew I loved. But the more people asked me to, the more I thought that yeah, maybe it was a good idea. After all, watching those old episodes as an adult is a pretty different experience from watching them as a kid. I’m able to appreciate them and criticize them for reasons I didn’t necessarily think about (or at least couldn’t quite articulate) as a kid, so that could still be an interesting project, right? I never ended up getting to pre-movie reviews on that old blog. After I finished season 8, I really needed a break from the show and so spent some time reviewing other things first.

But it feels appropriate to start with SpongeBob again on my new blog, so I guess it’s time to get around to those pre-movie episodes!

SpongeBob reviews will be posted every Monday. In theory. I’m notorious for being shit at keeping to a schedule, but I’ll do my best, I promise.

Leave a Reply

